Click to read or listen to reviews ...


New York Journal of Books, August 2011


F. Peter Phillips, Esq. Conflict Management Blog, August 2011


Columnist Phyllis Boros, CT Post, Stamford Advocate, Greenwich Time, September 2011


Regional NPR Book Reviewer Joan Baum, October 2011


Spirituality and Practice Book Review


The Lutheran Book Review



Saving Civility in the News


How to Disagree—Agreeably” in USA Weekend, October 2011


“Word of Mouth” Interview–New Hampshire Public Radio, October 2011


Hartford Book Examiner Interviews Sara Hacala, November 2011

    Part One        Part Two


Connecticut Magazine, December, 2011


The Daily Scarsdale + 41 “Daily” Westchester and Fairfield County Towns, December, 2011


Washington Post, December 8, 2011


Salt Lake Tribune, February 10, 2011


AARP Bulletin, March 2012


The Faith Middleton Show–WNPR–May 25, 2012


“Social Media—What’s Your Style?” May 16, 2012 Event


OneThingNew Interview August 23, 2012



Endorsements ...


Sybil Steinberg, former forecast editor, Publisher’s Weekly. . .


In her book Saving Civility, Sara Hacala is ardent and persuasive about restoring civility and good manners to daily life in America.  In this penetrating analysis about the dearth of polite conduct in our society, she diagnoses our current epidemic of rude and inconsiderate behavior and offers cogent solutions that are easy to understand and adopt.  She has considered nearly every aspect of contemporary life, and her extensive research into a range of psychological studies of human behavior add impact and credibility to this much-needed antidote to our national malaise.  The values she exhorts are essential to the well-being of our society. 

America needs this book!


Frank Deford, author and NPR contributor. . .


"In a cacophonous world increasingly made more unsettling by thoughtlessness, discourtesy and plain old-fashioned rudeness, Sara Hacala doesn't just moan about our modern boorishness, she shows us how we can start being more kind and gentle to one another.  It's so nice to read how we can be so much nicer."


Dr. Christine Porath, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University and author of The Cost of Bad Behavior:

How Incivility is Damaging Your Business and What to Do About It. . .


Saving Civility is loaded with great practical strategies for living more civil, rewarding, richer lives. Incorporating research from diverse fields, Saving Civility makes a compelling case for how individuals--and society benefit from civility. The book then shows readers how they can be more civil--and effective.


Kerry Kennedy: President, Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights. . .


Sara Hacala has written an insightful book which goes beyond platitudes about the importance of treating one another with respect to practical, everyday advice.  Her book is an important resource guide for work, home and travel.  Readable and reader friendly, Ms. Hacala”s words are ultimately an appeal to the spirit, and a call for compassion and grace.


Nelle Nugent, Broadway producer. . .


Sara Hacala’s SAVING CIVILITY couldn’t come at a more needful time. She gives the reader 52 simple ways that she hopes will “go viral” person by person.  Common sense simple, I’ve been trying them and they work!  GB Shaw wrote that “a lady is how you treats her”—Hacala updates that message in a rude, crude world that are so user friendly,  I guarantee you’ll adopt her methods and feel better for it.


Linda Kaplan Thaler, CEO and COO, The Kaplan Thaler Group and bestselling author with Robin Koval of The Power of Nice: How to Conquer the Business World with Kindness. . .


“Respect. Courtesy. Consideration.  As Sara Hacala illustrates, these three words can make a huge difference in your life and in the lives of those around you. Civility is not dead, and this book will help ensure it’s here to stay!”


Tim Koller, partner, McKinsey & Company and author of Value: the Four Cornerstones of Corporate Finance. . .


"Sara Hacala's call to improving the world is at once compelling, inspiring and practical:  Thorough research makes it compelling.  Concrete actions you can do today make it practical.  Hacala's stories and style make it inspiring."


Rev. Susan Sparks, Senior Pastor, Madison Avenue Baptist Church, NYC and author of Laugh Your Way to Grace. . .


“World peace through a kind word and a smile?  Absolutely.  Saving Civility is a wise and engaging discussion about the transformative powers of conduct, connectivity and cooperation.  Packed full of practical ideas, this book offers small steps we can all take -- small steps that can ultimately change our lives and our world." 


Rev. Charles L. Currie, S.J., President, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities. . .


“Saving Civility describes in graphic terms the incivility which is all too common in our society today, but more important, draws on many sources to provide an antidote, a compendium of  helpful suggestions for acting and communicating with civility in every phase of our lives.”


Jack Mitchell, CEO of Mitchell Family of Stores and bestselling author of Hug Your Customers and Hug Your People. . .


Saving Civility’ is a must read!  Civility at work is just good common business sense…to “hug”…to be nice…and treat people well with trust, dignity and respect …polite in an old fashion manner will never go out of fashion and has its own just rewards in the end…lots of ”hugs” will come back to you!


Thomas Lickona, Director, Center for the 4th and 5th Rs (Respect and Responsibility), State University of New York; author, Character Matters. . .

The most important measure of a society is the character of its people. Here is a wonderful guide to building a culture of character and a challenge to all of us to be part of the solution instead of part of the problem.  Saving Civility is about much more than civility; its delightful combination of cross-cultural wisdom, intriguing research findings, inspiring quotes and personal stories is a how-to manual for living well and adding to the quality of the lives of everyone around us. Reading it makes you feel good about being a member of the human family.


Rabbi Rami Shapiro, author of Recovery, The Sacred Path. . .


People are basically pains in the butt, and most of 'em are rude and crude. This book might do 'em some good, though I doubt they'd read it. Jerks. Hmm. Maybe I need this book myself. Chances are you do as well. We are losing our civility and with it our society. Sara Hacala just might be able to save both.




















About the bookAbout_the_book.html
  Reviews
Speaking & TrainingSpeaking_%26_Training.html
Partner With UsPartner_with_Us.html
About the AuthorAbout_the_Author.html
HomeHome.html
Have questions or suggestions? 
Contact Saramailto:sarahacala@gmail.com?subject=Website%20inquiry

Available in bookstores now!

Comments on how

Saving Civility

can change the way you live and impact our world


Please scroll down

BLOGhttp://www.savingcivility.com/blog